Discovering animals: Amphibians

Amphibian means two-lives; in fact amphibians spend their lives in the water and on land. They start their life in water and then develop legs and lungs for living on land. There are more than 4,000 different kinds of amphibians, for example frogs, salamanders, toads.

Dominik Hofer

Dominik Hofer

Frogs: they can have different skin colors and sizes. Frogs have powerful back legs and they can do incredible jumps and swim fast.  Certain frogs can jump up to 20 times their own body length in a single leap. Frogs have many predators, birds, reptiles and mammals. They make particular sound thanks to a sac in the throat that vibrates the air.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s